相思河畔 Lovesick by the River (Overview)

相思河畔 Lovesick by the River, or translated as Remembrance of River sometimes, was one of the songs Danny sang at the early stage of his career. If we have to categorise Danny’s songs, we can basically have 3 categories: (i) self-composed songs, (ii) Cantonese remake of old songs and (iii) songs other composers tailor-made for Danny. Tears Dropping for You, the song introduced last week, falls under the first category.  Lovesick by the River on the other hand belongs to the second category. The original song was sung by a Taiwanese singer called Cuiping 崔萍 in 1962. Danny’s Cantonese remake of the song first came out in 1983, stored in his album I only like you 偏偏喜歡你. The lyrics are composed by, once again, the marvellous 鄭國江 Cheng Kwok-kong. Mr. Cheng was a primary school teacher who worked as a freelance lyrics writer. Before retirement, Mr Cheng had worked with Danny for numerous times. I’m gonna write an article discussing Mr Cheng in detail in the near future.

There is seemingly no music video for Lovesick by the River. Please kindly correct me if I have been wrong. That said, the song appeared in a lot of Danny’s live shows. Thanks to Youtube, we can now enjoy this song whenever we want. The soundtrack version of the song is here:

Danny’s commemorative albums are available online and in CD warehouses, and they typically contain this song. The lawful way to obtain the song is through buying the albums. But technologies are so advanced now. I guess everyone knows how to download songs online.

Like before, I’m going to select some of the live performances that I feel best reflect the song. Recently, I found this clip on Youtube featuring a mini-concert-like performance of Danny in 1983. The link to this performance is here:


Look at how young and charming Danny was when he was 25. Does he remind you of the early Bruce Lee?

Every single clip that has Danny is a previous one. I especially like clips that have Danny talking. It feels good to know a bit more about Danny and how he felt towards life. There is a clip extracted from Danny’s 1988, in which Danny sang the song Lovesick by the River as the first song for his medley. Link to the clip is here:


Danny: 我諗下自己唱歌咁耐呢。。。吓?唔?咩事我可以為你服務?吓?點啫?吓?喔。唉,你估唔到我個。。。嗨,小姐。有個桔喎。你唔係想我得個桔吓嘛?啊,吉利啊!多謝多謝。係,請你返埋去坐吓。佢送個桔畀我真係好啦,等我大吉大利。好有心思。我一連串呢,已經係錄左大約有十幾隻嘅新碟啦。你知唔知點解啊?錄定丫嘛。你估下點樣可以一連串錄十幾新碟丫。吓?乜野啊?我準備呢,一出,出曬好多新碟呢,咁我就退休架啦。唔好啊?OK。我呢,其實呢,係我嘅碟裡邊呢,有好多舊嘅慢嘅好好聽嘅情歌。我好想話,送曬畀大家一齊聽,但係唔知點樣揀一個辦法,所以最後我決定呢,就用呢個辦法揀選幾首最精選,我自己好心愛嘅。好誠意送畀你地,我嘅情歌。I’m thinking, since I have been singing for so long…what? huh? What may I help you? What? What do you want? Huh? Oh. Sigh, you can’t image my… Hi, Miss. There is a tangerine (Cantonese pronunciation: Gat). Don’t you want me to have nothing left, do you? (a Cantonese pun) Oh, you mean “fortune”! (also a Cantonese pun) Thank you, thank you. Thanks to her for giving me a tangerine so that I can have good fortune. Very thoughtful of her. I have already recorded more than 10 albums at a time. Do you know why? For preparation! Guess how I recorded 10 new albums in one go. Huh? What did you say? I have already thought about that…when I release all my new albums, I’m going to retire. Don’t like that? OK. I’m… in fact… in all of my albums, there are a lot of old, slow and beautiful love songs. I would like to say that I’m going to sing all them for you guys. But I can’t find a way to do so. That’s why eventually, I have decided to use this way (i.e. making a medley) to pick the best of the best and the songs I like most. From the bottom of my heart, I present to you my love songs.  

I always enjoy seeing Danny being chatty and interactive with the audience of his concerts. I can tell that he really enjoyed being on stage performing. At first I thought someone as quiet as Danny would probably hate being gazed by the public. But I guess Danny, deep down, really needs love and people’s recognition about his musical achievements. But really Danny, you don’t need to worry. Even up to today, there are many people supporting you and your music. Your everything has been well remembered.

Lyrics are as follows.

人似是帶著幾分醉 People look like that they have been a little drunk,
輕輕的駕著帆船為愛浪 Gently sailing their boats for the love wave.

我的身軀輕輕搖晃 My body is swinging slightly.
就似躺身於繩網 It seems like I’m lying on a net.
情愛共我又似隔張網 There seems to be a net between love and I. 
孤單的我悠悠然望兩岸 Feeling lonely, I look at the two sides of the shores.
看一雙雙的小情侶 I look at all the couples
互訴心曲多神往 happily expressing their love.
前方遠方 In the front and the far sides
人在戀愛我獨懶洋洋 people are busy falling in love while I’m the only person doing nothing.
還願隨遇若非所愛我  If destiny doesn’t bring someone who loves me to me
並不稀罕有沒有不相干 I don’t really care and don’t really feel bothered.
河岸浪與浪也偷看 I’m peeking at the waving hitting the shores.
一雙雙快樂情人在兩岸 Pairs and pairs of couples are on the two shores
帶出多少相思情義 expressing a lot of love
又帶出多少迷惘 and also expressing a lot of puzzlement.

Leave a Reply

